Story: Omid Akbari

Published on
Mon, 09/12/2013 - 11:21

Omid: the eternal optimist with the incredible smile. In 2010, this Afghan young man left Iran and came to Belgium. After years of uncertainty, his asylum application was recently approved at last. Through music, poetry and volunteering, he shows he is much more than just someone with or without documents. “You know what? A residence permit doesn’t determine who you are. A lot of people make that mistake."

By Awet Desta Aregawi 

Who? Omid Akbari
From: Afghanistan
Age: 26
In Belgium since: 2010
Integration programme at bon: 2013                                                              

Omid, can you tell us about your arrival in Belgium?
I came to Belgium in 2010. As an asylum seeker, I first stayed at a centre near Liege and then in Dinant. In 2012 I had to move to Waasmunster. After about 6 months, I received a negative decision for my asylum application. I applied a second time, adding new elements. In the meantime, I lived at a transit residence in Brussels. I received a second negative decision. My motto is to “Never give up!”, so me and my lawyer decided to appeal to that decision. During that time, I was considered an illegal immigrant here for 4 to 5 months.

Wasn’t the winter of 2012 a very harsh one?
Yes, it was incredibly cold. Luckily by then, I already had several friends who offered me a place to sleep. It was hard for me to accept their help. Sometimes, I pretended like nothing was the matter. Getting on a train without a ticket was against my principles, but I had no money to pay for the train.

I got to know a lot of good friends during that difficult period, friends who also supported me on the bad days. Because you know what? A residence permit doesn’t determine who you are. Even though a lot of people make the mistake thinking that.

How did you end up in “your little castle”, as you call Klein Kasteeltje?
After the winter, the Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons sent me to "my little castle". It was difficult in the beginning, but later I got to know many of the residents and even took up music: piano and tabla (an Indian percussion instrument).

You also started your integration programme at bon during that period. How was that?
It was very good. At bon, I mostly learned that people should respect each other, despite their differences. In class, we listened to each other a lot. I also learned to put things in perspective. A lot of people at bon are multilingual, which inspires me. You know, in Farsi we say you should leave out the “N” of “not”: in Farsi, “Nmitavanam” means “I can not”, but if you leave out the “N”, it means “I can”.

When the lessons social orientation finished, I asked my counsellor if there was something I could do during the summer months. That is how I ended up in the youth project Masir Avenir. I worked at the cafeteria for two months and bought fruit for the other youngsters. I’ve also helped out as a volunteer in recruiting new students at markets.

You seem to lead a busy life. What are your days like?
On Mondays, I take part in a poetry workshop in Klein Kasteeltje. A blissful afternoon. Sometimes, I write poems or translate Farsi texts to English. On Tuesdays, there is a music rehearsal with Globe Aroma. On Wednesdays, I join the circus activities at Foyer. Then on Thursdays, I sing with Globa Aroma in Bozar. Thanks to those activities, I was able to meet a lot of people, both Belgian and non-Belgian. Over the weekend, I mostly stay inside, in my little castle.

Let’s talk about current events. Do you follow the situation of Afghan asylum seekers?
I of course sympathise with other asylum seekers’ situation. In Iran and Afghanistan, there is no freedom. I cannot understand that people are being sent back to such countries. They are being sent straight into danger.

People don’t come to Belgium without reason. Leaving behind your country, your culture, your family, is never the first option. It is because there is no other way. I also saw a lot of misery on my way here. At times, the line between life and death was thin. I cannot understand that some people think we would take all those risks just to get money from the OCMW in Belgium. OCMW support lasts a very short time only. After all the hardships I conquered, I want a quiet life. I want to work and pay taxes. I did not leave behind my beloved mother to get financial support here.

You received good news recently: your asylum application was approved. What are your plans now?
I’ve gained experience in electricity in Iran. I could do something with that. I would also like to go study for social services. I believe my experience as a refugee could be useful. I have to think about that.

I also have to leave Klein Kasteeltje. After receiving a positive answer on your application, you have two months to find a new place. That is something to worry about, but I call that a “sweet problem”: having to live as an illegal immigrant was a whole other problem.

I admire your optimism!
(Omid smiles)

Story: Omid Akbari

Published on
ven, 06/12/2013 - 15:08

Omid, l’optimiste invétéré au sourire radieux.  En 2010 ce jeune Afghan quitta l’Iran et vint en Belgique.  Après des années d’incertitude, sa demande d’asile a été agréée.  Par la musique, la poésie et le bénévolat il démontre qu’il est plus qu’une personne avec ou sans papiers. «  Tu sais ? Ce n’est pas le permis de séjour qui détermine qui tu es.  Beaucoup de gens commettent cette erreur d’appréciation. » Par Awet Desta Aregawi

Qui?  Omid Akbari                                                                                                  
Vient de: l’Afghanistan                                                                                            
Age:
26 ans                                                                                                        
En Belgique depuis:
2010                                                                                           
Trajet d’intégration civique à bon:
2013                                                                       

Comment était ton arrivée en Belgique?                                                                                                                                           
Je suis arrivé en Belgique en 2010.  En tant que demandeur d’asile j’ai d’abord résidé dans un centre près de Liège et puis à Dinant.  Vers le début de 2011 j’ai dû déménager à Waasmunster.  Au bout de six mois à peu près ma demande d’asile a été rejetée.  En 2012 j’ai introduit une nouvelle demande d’asile comportant de nouveaux éléments.  En attendant j’ai résidé dans une résidence de transit à Bruxelles. Ma demande a été rejetée une deuxième fois. «Never give up!» est mon crédo.  Avec mon avocat je suis allé en appel.  Il est vrai que pendant 4 à 5 mois j’ai été un illégal.

L’hiver 2012 a été rude, non?
Oui, il a fait très froid.  Heureusement je m’étais fait des amis qui m’ont offert un endroit où dormir.  Mais j’avais du mal à accepter cette aide.  Parfois je prétendais que tout allait bien.  En principe, le fait de prendre le train sans ticket me posait problème.  Mais je n’avais pas l’argent pour le payer.

Pendant cette période difficile j’ai rencontré plein de bons amis.  Des amis qui me soutiennent aussi pendant les jours sombres.  Tu sais?  Le permis de séjour ne détermine pas qui tu es.  Beaucoup de gens font cette erreur d’appréciation.

Comment es-tu arrivé dans «ton petit château», le nom que tu donnes au Petit Château?                                       
Après l’hiver le Commissariat Général pour Réfugiés et Apatrides m’a envoyé vers «mon petit château».  Au début c’était difficile.  Plus tard j’ai fait la connaissance de plusieurs résidents et je me suis mis à la musique: piano et tabla (instrument de percussion indien).                                                                                

C’est alors que tu as abordé le trajet d’intégration civique à bon.  Quelle a été ton expérience?
Très bonne.  A bon j’ai appris avant toute chose que des personnes d’origine diverse doivent apprendre à se respecter mutuellement.  En classe nous nous sommes beaucoup écoutés.  J’ai aussi appris à relativiser.  Beaucoup de collaborateurs bon sont multilingues.  Cela m’inspire.  En farsi on dit de laisser tomber le «N» de non.  En farsi «Nmitavanam» signifie «je ne peux pas».  Sans le «N» cela veut dire «je peux».

A la fin du cours d’intégration civique, j’ai demandé à mon accompagnatrice comment me rendre utile pendant les mois d’été.  C’est ainsi que j’ai rejoint votre projet jeunes Masir Avenir.  J’ai travaillé pendant deux mois à la cafétéria et acheté des fruits pour les jeunes.  Entretemps j’ai aussi aidé comme bénévole au recrutement de nouveaux candidats étudiants sur les marchés.

Tu sembles avoir un agenda bien rempli.  A quoi ressemblent tes journées?
Le lundi je participe à un atelier de poésie au Petit Château.  Parfois j’y écris des poèmes ou je traduis des textes farsi en anglais.  Le mardi il y a une répétition de musique avec Globe Aroma.  Le mercredi je participe à une activité de cirque de Foyer.  Le jeudi je chante à Bozar avec Globe Aroma.  Grâce à ces activités j’ai rencontré de nombreuses personnes, Belges et non-Belges.  Pendant le week-end je me prélasse dans mon petit château.

Parlons un peu de l’actualité.  Suis-tu la situation des demandeurs d’asile afghans?
Il va sans dire que j’ai beaucoup d’empathie pour la situation des autres demandeurs d’asile.  En Iran et en Afghanistan il n’y a pas de liberté.  Je ne comprends donc pas comment on peut renvoyer ces gens vers de tels pays.  On les envoie tout droit dans la gueule du loup.

Ce n’est pas sans raison que les gens viennent en Belgique.  Quitter son pays, sa culture, sa famille n’est pas un choix qui se trouve en tête de liste.  A moins de ne pouvoir faire autrement.  En outre, j’ai vu beaucoup de misère tout au long de mon itinéraire vers la Belgique.  L’écart entre la vie et la mort était ténu.  Je ne comprends pas que certaines personnes s’imaginent que nous avons pris tous ces risques dans le seul but d’obtenir de l’aide de la C.P.A.S..  Cette aide est d’ailleurs limitée dans le temps.  J’ai envie de travailler et de payer des impôts.  Je n’ai pas quitté ma très chère maman afin d’obtenir de l’aide pécuniaire ici.

Récemment tu as reçu une bonne nouvelle: ta demande d’asile a été agréée.  Quels sont les plans?
En Iran j’ai travaillé dans le domaine de l’électricité.  J’aimerais également faire des études de travailleur social.  J’estime que mon expérience de réfugié peut être utile.  Il faut que j’approfondisse la question.

Après l’agrément il faut quitter le Petit Château dans les deux mois.  C’est un problème.  Mais je j’appelle cela un «doux problème».  Vivre en tant qu’illégal est autrement compliqué.

J’admire ton optimisme
(Omid sourit)