Rafa starts to run

Published on
Wed, 16/10/2013 - 15:51

Get inspired by Rafa, one of the participants of the running club Les Gazelles De Bruxelles! On the 6th of October, she ran the Ladies Run on the Brussels Marathon. “Try and see. If you enjoy it, you won’t stop: you’ll like it forever!”

Rafa is not a stranger to the bon running group. Four years ago, at the start of bontorun, Rafa was the first volunteer to guard the backpacks of the runners at the Simonis Park. The year after, Rafa cooked couscous for the charity of the Life Run Against Cancer. Later, she visited the training to give support and enjoy the sporty ambiance.

At last, on a wonderful Friday at the end of last summer, after endless encouragement, Rafa started to run as well. At her own pace, quietly but in constant movement, and frightened a first, because the slightest physical movement caused her to be out of breath.

Gradually, she started to run more often, not just at the weekly group training. She went to the park by herself and met other runners. Rafa started to lose weight and her skin started to glow. She quickly became the example and encouragement for other women who joined start to run. “Running makes me feel better, both in my body and in my heart”, Rafa says cheerfully.

After nearly three months of training, Rafa took part in the Ladies Run at the Brussels Marathon on the 6th of October. Bravely and full of confidence, Rafa started the 4 kilometres at the Jubelpark.  Following the mile-long Wetstraat and then along Central Station, she ran all the way down to the Grote Markt to be received with applause.

“When I see myself in this picture, I mainly feel proud. To everyone who can’t get moving: don’t see running as something hard. Try and see. If you enjoy it, you won’t ever want to quit: you’ll like it forever!”

Congratulations to all Brussels Gazelles!

www.lesgazellesdebruxelles.be

With special thanks to Klaartje Ory

Rafa starts to run

Published on
mer, 16/10/2013 - 15:56

Prenez exemple sur Rafa, une des participantes du club de course à pied Les Gazelles de Bruxelles ! Le 6 octobre elle a participé au Ladies Run lors du Marathon de Bruxelles.  « Try and see.  Si tu y prends plaisir tu n’en auras jamais assez : you’ll like it forever ! »

Rafa n’est pas une inconnue au sein du groupe de course à pied de bon.  Il y a quatre ans, lors du lancement de bontorun, Rafa était la première bénévole à surveiller les sacs à dos dans le parc Simonis.  L’année suivante Rafa mitonnait un couscous au bénéfice de Levensloop tegen Kanker (Course de vie contre le Cancer).  Ensuite elle apparaissait à chaque entraînement en tant que supporter et pour s’y imprégner de l’ambiance sportive.                                                                                                  

Et puis, un beau vendredi fin de l’été passé, Rafa s’est mise à concourir sous de constants encouragements.  Doucement, à son rythme, très lentement mais toujours en mouvement.  Avec appréhension au début car au moindre effort physique Rafa s’essoufflait.

Petit à petit elle courait de plus en plus, non seulement lors de l’entraînement hebdomadaire du groupe.  Elle se dirigeait seule vers le parc où elle fit la connaissance d’autres coureurs.  Rafa perdit du poids, sa peau se mit à étinceler.  Elle devint l’exemple à suivre et une force motrice pour les autres femmes qui avaient rejoint le start to run. « Courir me fait me sentir mieux dans mon corps mais aussi dans mon cœur », dit Rafa.

Au bout d’environ trois mois d’entraînement, Rafa a participé le 6 octobre au Ladies Run lors du Marathon de Bruxelles.  Courageuse et pleine de confiance en soi Rafa entamait les quatre kilomètres au Parc du Jubilée.  Via l’interminable rue de la Loi, longeant la Gare Centrale elle a dévalé la descente jusqu’à la Grande Place où elle fut accueillie par un concert d’ applaudissements.

« Lorsque je me vois sur cette photo, je suis très fière de moi.  A toutes celles qui ont du mal à se mettre en mouvement je dis que je n’envisage pas la course comme quelque chose de « dur ».  Try and see.  Si ça te fait plaisir, tu n’en auras jamais assez : you’ll like it forever ! »

Chapeau bas devant toutes les Gazelles de Bruxelles !

www.lesgazellesdebruxelles.be

Avec des remerciements à Klaartje Ory